Frequently Asked Questions

Can I also send CAD data for the production of the front panel or do I have to send a Front Panel Designer file?

We are also glad to manufacture your front panels on the basis of your technical drawings. As our production data are exclusively generated using Front Panel Designer, your data has to be transferred to this format. We charge for this service according to the time involved at a rate of € 19.34 gross (€ 16.25 net) per quarter of an hour or part thereof. Please send us your data ideally in DXF or STEP format. A dimensioned drawing is additionally desirable. We will gladly send you a non-binding quotation in advance.

What are the manufacturing tolerances?

Whereas the positioning accuracy of the machine tools is 0.02 mm, manufacturing tolerances of 0.05 up to 0.10 mm can generally be expected due to tool wear etc.
If you want to specify a drilled hole for a round connector for example, you should add 0.2 mm (0.3 mm for a D-hole) to the diameter of the thread and specify this as the diameter of the drilled hole so that it fits well.
Please refer to our Online help for further information.

What materials can you process?

In addition to various aluminum alloys, we are able to process copper, brass and various plastics (e.g. acrylic, POM, ABS, PVC, PC, ...). We can also procure some of these materials for you on request. It is unfortunately not possible to process steel and epoxy resins containing fiberglass.

How can I order a panel with UV-Printing?

From version 5.0, Front Panel Designer supports all the common graphic file formats such as PDF, JPG, TIFF, PNG or BMP. Any number of graphics you require can be placed on your front panel, which can then be scaled, cropped, moved or rotated. You can check the price directly in the program and use the ordering function to place an order for your front panel.

Only our anodized aluminum is suitable for UV printing. Powder coated aluminum as well as any kind of customer-supplied material is unfortunately excluded. Subsequent anodizing is also technically not feasible in combination with UV printi

How can I order a panel with bending and what data must I provide?

We are happy to bend your front panel according to your sketch of the bending or your technical drawing. For this we require the following information:

  • Bending radius (may not be smaller than the thickness of the material)

  • Bending angle

  • Leg length (at least 10 mm)

Milled objects should be positioned at least 10 mm from the bending edge.
If you are unable to comply with these parameters, contact us and we will check the feasibility of your requirements. You can send the sketch for the bending by email to service@schaeffer-ag.de.

Is it also possible to have special colors for powder-coated panels or in-filled engravings?

We are happy to procure special colors on request. Enter the desired RAL color in Front Panel Designer in the "Remarks for production" section of the front panel properties box. We charge a flat rate fee per color of € 58.90 gross (€ 49.50 net) for the special procurement and store the color for you, so that you can also use it for subsequent orders

Can changes be made to an order after it has been placed?

For this, please contact customer service. Depending on the the current production status and the changes desired, additional costs may be incurred. On the day the order is placed, orders can usually also be changed without additional cost.

What do I have to bear in mind when sending my own material for processing?

When supplying material, customers must take care to ensure that the material supplied has exactly the same outer dimensions as the .fpd file. Furthermore, the .fpd file may only contain objects which are not as yet present on the material. For example, if a panel already has system holes, these must not be marked in the .fpd file. So that we know exactly how the panel is to be clamped on the machine, its lower left corner should always be marked.

You can send the material to us by post (also UPS, Fedex, etc.). Please include our reference number on your delivery note. You will be given this as soon as you have placed your order.

How quickly can you deliver my order? Can I speed up delivery?

The normal delivery time is 5-8 working days, with more than 90% of the orders leaving our company on day 5. Faster delivery times are also possible for an additional charge.
The following express surcharges apply:
3 working days: 100 % surcharge
1 working day: 200 % surcharge 

How can I order if I do not want/am unable to use the online tool?

The ordering program integrated in Front Panel Designer also works offline. You can use this to put your order together. At the end of the ordering process, you can also save your order as an order file rather than sending it to us online. To order you can send us this file by email to service@schaeffer-ag.de.
If you would like to place an order based on a quotation we have made, a written order including a reference to our quotation is sufficient.

How can I get a quotation?

If you have already generated your front panels and require a written offer for your ordering process, this can be requested directly using Front Panel Designer.
To do this, click on "Request a quote" in the "Summary and ordering" tab in our ordering program.
If you are unable to use Front Panel Designer, please send us your technical drawings or CAD files along with a request for a quotation to service@schaeffer-ag.de.

What is the status of my order? When will I receive my panels?

The delivery date is specified in your order confirmation.
You can check the current status of your order on the homepage of our website. All you need for this is your email address and the purchase order number. In the email confirming your order, you will also find a direct link to the status of your order.

How do I set thicknesses greater than 10 mm in Front Panel Designer?

We can process aluminum in thicknesses up to 20 mm. As we do not have thicknesses greater than 10 mm in stock, these must be procured specifically. If you require such a panel, simply set 10 mm as your thickness in the .fpd file and write the actual thickness required in the "Remarks for production" section.
Please note that certain small holes and cutouts can only be milled to a limited depth. Our Customer Service will be glad to assist you.

Can you also process the end faces (outer edges) of my front panel?

Yes. It is also possible, in addition to the front and reverse faces, to process the end faces of a component in Front Panel Designer. In order to do this, a second file will need to be created in Front Panel Designer. The dimensions of the end face to be processed must be included in this file. You basically draw the top view of the end face and place your desired objects on this. It is important to select the option "customer-supplied material" for the end face file.

Please make a note of which end face is to be processed in the "Remarks for production" input field. For example: "Right End Face of file XXX".

Your question is not listed here?

You will find comprehensive information in our online help or also in our forum.

  
Facebook Google+

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Kann ich Ihnen auch CAD-Daten für die Fertigung der Frontplatte schicken oder muss es eine Frontplatten Designer-Datei sein?

Gerne fertigen wir Ihre Frontplatten auch auf Grundlage Ihrer technischen Zeichnung. Da unsere Fertigungsdaten ausschließlich mit Hilfe des Frontplatten Designers erzeugt werden, müssen Ihre Daten dorthin übertragen werden. Diesen Service berechnen wir nach Aufwand mit 19,34 € brutto (16,25 € netto) je angefangener Viertelstunde. Bitte senden Sie uns Ihre Daten vorzugsweise im DXF- oder STEP-Format zu. Zusätzlich ist eine bemaßte Zeichnung wünschenswert. Gerne erstellen wir Ihnen vorab ein unverbindliches Angebot.

Wie groß sind die Fertigungstoleranzen?

Während die Positioniergenauigkeit der Bearbeitungsmaschinen bei 0,02 mm liegt, muss aufgrund von Werkzeugverschleiss etc. im allgemeinen mit Fertigungstoleranzen von 0,05 bis zu 0,10 mm gerechnet werden.
Wenn Sie z.B. eine Bohrung für einen runden Stecker angegeben möchten, sollten Sie auf den Durchmesser des Gewindes 0,2mm (bei einer D-Bohrung 0,3mm) draufrechnen und dies als Durchmesser für die Bohrung angeben damit es sicher zusammen passt.
Weiter Informationen zu diesem Thema finden Sie in unserer Onlinehilfe.

Welche Materialien können Sie bearbeiten?

Neben verschiedenen Aluminiumlegierungen sind wir in der Lage Kupfer, Messing und diverse Kunststoffe (z.B. Acryl, POM, ABS, PVC, PC, ...) zu bearbeiten. Einige dieser Materialien können wir auf Anfrage auch für Sie beschaffen. Die Bearbeitung von Stahl und glasfaserhaltigen Epoxydharzen ist leider nicht möglich.

Wie kann ich eine Platte mit UV-Druck bestellen?

Ab der Version 5.0 unterstützt der Frontplatten Designer alle üblichen Grafikdateiformate wie PDF, JPG, TIFF, PNG oder BMP. Sie können beliebig viele Grafiken auf Ihrer Frontplatte platzieren und diese skalieren, beschneiden, verschieben oder drehen. Den Preis können Sie unmittelbar im Programm kontrollieren und Ihre Frontplatte wie gewohnt über die Bestellfunktion in Auftrag geben.

Hinweis: Für den UV-Druck eignet sich ausschließlich unser eloxiertes Aluminium. Pulverbeschichtetes Aluminium und jede Art von Kundenmaterial sind leider ausgeschlossen. Auch Nachträgliches eloxieren ist im Zusammenhang mit UV-Druck technisch nicht umsetzbar.

Wie kann ich eine Platte mit Biegung bestellen und welche Daten muss ich angeben?

Gerne biegen wir Ihre Frontplatte anhand Ihrer Biegeskizze oder nach Zeichnung. Hierzu benötigen wir die folgenden Daten:

  • Biegeradius (nicht kleiner als Materialstärke)

  • Biegewinkel

  • Schenkellängen (mind. 10 mm)

Gefräste Elemente sollten mind. 10 mm von der Biegekante entfernt platziert werden.
Sollten Sie diese Parameter nicht einhalten können, können Sie uns gerne kontaktieren und wir prüfen die Machbarkeit Ihrer Wünsche.
Die Skizze zum Biegen können Sie uns gerne per E-Mail an service@schaeffer-ag.de senden.

Sind auch Sonderfarben bei pulverbeschichteten Platten oder ausgelegten Gravuren möglich?

Auf Wunsch beschaffen wir gerne auch Sonderfarben. Geben Sie den gewünschten RAL-Farbton im Frontplatten Designer bei den Eigenschaften der Frontplatte im Feld "Anmerkungen für die Fertigung" an. Wir berechnen für die Sonderbeschaffung pro Farbton eine einmalige Pauschale in Höhe von 58,90 € brutto (49,50 € netto) und lagern die Farbe für Sie, sodass Sie diese auch in Folgeaufträgen verwenden können.

Können an einem Auftrag nach der Bestellung noch Änderungen vorgenommen werden?

Kontaktieren Sie hierzu bitte den Kundenservice. Abhängig vom bisherigen Fertigungstatus und den gewünschten Änderungen entstehen dadurch Mehrkosten. Am Tag der Bestellung können Aufträge meist auch ohne Mehrkosten geändert werden.

Was muss beachtet werden wenn ich Ihnen mein eigenes Material zur Bearbeitung zuschicken möchte?

Bei Kundenmaterial muss darauf geachtet werden, dass das Material genau die Außenmaße der .fpd-Datei hat. Außerdem dürfen in der .fpd-Datei nur Elemente vorhanden sein, die noch nicht auf dem Material vorhanden sind. Sind auf einer Platte zum Beispiel bereits Systembohrungen vorhanden, dürfen diese nicht in der .fpd-Datei eingezeichnet sein. Damit wir genau wissen, wie die Platte, auf der Maschine, eingespannt werden soll, sollte immer die untere linke Ecke der Platte markiert werden.
Das Material können Sie uns per Post (auch UPS, FedEx, etc.) zuschicken. Bitte schreiben Sie auf Ihren Lieferschein unsere Referenznummer. Diese bekommen Sie, sobald Ihr Auftrag an uns übermittelt wurde.

Wie schnell können Sie meinen Auftrag liefern? Kann ich meinen Auftrag beschleunigen?

Die normale Lieferzeit beträgt 5-8 Arbeitstage, wobei über 90 % der Aufträge am 5. Tag unser Haus verlassen. Gegen Aufpreis sind auch schnellere Lieferzeiten möglich.

Dabei gelten folgende Expressaufschläge:

3 Arbeitstage: 100 % Aufschlag
1 Arbeitstag: 200 % Aufschlag

Wie kann ich bestellen, wenn ich das Onlinetool nicht nutzen kann/möchte?

Das in den Frontplatten Designer integrierte Bestellprogramm arbeitet auch offline. Sie können Ihre Bestellung mit diesem zusammen stellen. Zum Abschluss des Bestellvorgangs können Sie die Bestellung auch in einer Bestelldatei abspeichern statt sie online an uns zu übermitteln. Um zu bestellen können Sie uns diese Datei per E-Mail an service@schaeffer-ag.de schicken.

Falls Sie laut eines für Sie erstellten Angebotes bestellen möchten, ist eine schriftliche Bestellung mit Bezug auf unser Angebot ausreichend.

Wie erhalte ich ein Angebot?

Falls Sie die Frontplatten schon erstellt haben und für Ihren Bestellvorgang noch ein schriftliches Angebot benötigen, können Sie dieses direkt über unseren Frontplatten Designer anfordern.
Hierfür klicken Sie in unserem Bestellprogramm im Reiter "Übersicht und Bestellung" auf "Angebot anfordern".
Falls sie den Frontplatten Designer nicht nutzen können, schicken Sie uns bitte technische Zeichnungen oder CAD-Dateien mit der Bitte um Angebotserstellung an service@schaeffer-ag.de.

Wie ist der Status meines Auftrags? Wann erhalte ich meine Platten?

Das Lieferdatum können Sie Ihrer Auftragsbestätigung entnehmen.
Den aktuellen Status Ihrer Bestellung können Sie auf der Startseite unserer Homepage abrufen. Sie benötigen hierfür lediglich Ihre E-Mail-Adresse und die Auftragsnummer. In der E-Mail zur Auftragsbestätigung erhalten Sie von uns auch einen direkten Link zum Status Ihres Auftrages.

Wie stelle ich Dicken über 10 mm im Frontplatten Designer ein?

Aluminium können wir bis zur einer Dicke von 30 mm bearbeiten. Da wir Dicken über 10 mm aber nicht auf Lager haben, müssen diese extra beschafft werden. Wenn Sie eine solche Platte benötigen, stellen Sie einfach 10 mm als Dicke in Ihrer .fpd-Datei ein und schreiben die tatsächlich gewünschte Dicke in das Feld „Anmerkungen für die Fertigung“.
Bitte beachten Sie, dass einige kleine Bohrungen und Durchbrüche nur bis zu einer begrenzten Tiefe gefräßt werden können. Unser Kundenservice hilft Ihnen dabei gerne weiter.

Können Sie auch die Stirnseiten (Außenkanten) meiner Frontplatte bearbeiten?

Ja, im Frontplatten Designer ist neben der Front- und Rückseitenbearbeitung
auch die Bearbeitung der Stirnseiten eines Bauteils möglich. Um dies umsetzten zu können, muss eine zweite Datei im Frontplatten Designer erstellt werden. In dieser Datei müssen sich die Maße der zu bearbeitenden Stirnseite wiederfinden. Man zeichnet also die Draufsicht der Stirnseite und platziert auf dieser die gewünschten Elemente.
Wichtig ist, dass die Option „Kundenmaterial“ für die Datei der Stirnseite gewählt wird. Bitte notieren Sie im Fenster "Anmerkung für die Fertigung" um welche Stirnseite es sich handelt. Zum Beispiel: „Rechte Stirnseite der Datei XXX“.

Ihre Frage ist nicht aufgeführt?

Umfassende Informationen bekommen Sie in unserer Online-Hilfe oder auch in unserem Forum.

  
Facebook Google+