Front Panel Designer

  Previous topic Next topic JavaScript is required for the print function  

"Frontplatten Designer" is a free software that optimally supports the design and on-line ordering of front panels. The files which arrive online or by email at "Schaeffer AG" are immediately available in the production department following their automatic conversion.

Free Download

"Frontplatten Designer" is available for free download on the Schaeffer AG website.

Button

We would also be happy to send you a CD-ROM with the installation package.

Installation on Windows, Mac OS X and Linux

"Frontplatten Designer" can be installed on the following operating systems:

Windows: 10, 8, 7, Vista, XP
Mac OS X: 10.11 (El Capitan), 10.10 (Yosemite), 10.9 (Mavericks), 10.8 (Mountain Lion), 10.7 (Lion), 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
Linux: Intel 32 bit/64 bit, all standard distributions, less than 3 years old

For details, please read the chapter "Setup > Installation" in this manual.

Everything from drilled holes to free contours

All of the standard features required for the design of front panels such as drilled holes, cutouts, cavities, lettering, curved slots, etc. are available right up to the possibility of including your own HPGL gravure lines to milling lines based on vector graphics ("free contours").

Furthermore, a collection of macro-elements is available, which are based on the geometry of standardized or marketable components and is being continually expanded by Schaeffer AG .

Recurring elements can be grouped at random by the user and managed in a library.

In order to be able to design front panels for 19 "racks, the geometry of the main plate can be adjusted in width and height units and system holes drilled for well-known suppliers' applications.

At each design stage, the price the front panel would cost in the current design can be called up.

Taster course

Detailed instructions for the design of a sample front panel can be found in our "Taster course". In this way you can familiarize yourself with the fundamentals of creating a front panel.

Automatic Price Calculation

The program continually calculates the price of the current draft and the scale of discount per unit depending on quantity.

Online Ordering

"Frontplatten Designer" has a module for ordering the desired front panel and optional enclosure components online.

Delivery service from Standard to "Overnight"

Set the timeline for production and delivery in the ordering dialog. Using the standard service, your order is complete after 5-8 days. Using the Expressservice and in conjunction with the respective delivery service, you can also receive your order the very next day.

Origin and development

The idea for the development of the Front Panel Designer originated in 1997 as two things occurred at the same time:

The previous production of amusement machines and thermodynamic measuring devices at the Schaeffer company was associated with a need for front panels, which regularly culminated in the request: "One of these panels and if possible by yesterday" – exactly what manufacturers liked to hear least and what understandably cost the most.
As a result of a major development contract the company was in possession of a modern high-performance milling machine, which was controlled by software with modules covering the most common front panel objects.

Within six months, a design software was developed for users and a conversion software to convert individual design files into the appropriate production files for the milling machine. The software was ready to download on the homepage of Schaeffer Apparatebau from 1 March 1998 and was advertised in magazines such as "Elrad" and "Elektor".

The Front Panel Designer emerged at a time when the number of Internet users was growing rapidly from year to year. And thus the Schaeffer milling service met a growing community which was developing its own solutions and wanting to order online, at the same time desiring the certainty of having exactly what they had designed delivered cheaply and quickly - even when the quantity was one!

Schaeffer AG was able to develop positively, because it remained true to its original motto of offering the customer maximum flexibility in design and then producing his solution in high quality and delivering reliably.

Schaeffer AG delivers worldwide, especially to the European market of course. Especially for the market in America and parts of Asia "Front Panel Express LLC" was founded in 2002 in Seattle (USA).

Frontplattendesigner

  Vorangehende Seite Nächste Seite Für die Druckfunktion wird JavaScript benötigt!  

Der »Frontplatten Designer« ist eine kostenlose Software, die den Entwurf einschließlich Online-Bestellung von Frontplatten optimal unterstützt. Die Online oder per Email bei der »Schaeffer AG« eingetroffenen Dateien stehen nach automatischer Konvertierung sofort für die Fertigung zur Verfügung.

Kostenloser Download

Der »Frontplatten Designer« steht in der jeweils aktuellen Version auf der Website von der Schaeffer AG zum kostenlosen Download zur Verfügung.

Button

Gerne sende wir Ihnen auch eine USB-Stick mit dem Installationspaket zu.

Installation unter Windows, Mac OS X und Linux

Der »Frontplatten Designer« kann unter folgenden Betriebssystemen installiert werden:

Windows: 10, 8, 7, Vista, XP
Mac OS X: 10.11 (El Capitan), 10.10 (Yosemite), 10.9 (Mavericks), 10.8 (Mountain Lion), 10.7 (Lion), 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
Linux: Intel 32 bit/64 bit, alle gängigen Distributionen, jünger als 3 Jahre

Für Einzelheiten lesen Sie bitte das Kapitel „Setup > Installation“ in diesem Handbuch.

Alles von der Bohrung bis zur Freikontur

Für den Entwurf von Frontplatten stehen sämtliche benötigten Standardelemente wie Bohrungen, Ausbrüche, Planflächen, Beschriftungen, Schlitzkreise etc. zur Verfügung bis hin zur Möglichkeit, eigene HPGL-Gravurzüge sowie auf Vektorgrafiken beruhende Fräszüge („Freikonturen“) einzubinden.

Weiterhin steht eine Sammlung von Makroelementen zur Verfügung, die auf die Geometrie genormter bzw. marktgängiger Bauteile abgestellt ist und von der Schaeffer AG ständig ausgebaut wird.

Wiederkehrende Elemente kann der Anwender beliebig gruppieren und diese in einer Bibliothek verwalten.

Um Frontplatten für 19"-Baugruppenträger entwerfen zu können, kann die Geometrie der Grundplatte in Teilungs- und Höheneinheiten eingestellt und Systembohrungen für Applikationen namhafter Lieferanten angebracht werden.

In jedem Stadium des Entwurfs lässt sich der Preis abrufen, den die Frontplatte im aktuellen Design kosten würde.

Schnupperkurs

Eine detaillierte Anleitung für das Design einer Muster-Frontplatte finden Sie in unserem „Schnupperkurs“. So können Sie sich mit den Grundzügen der Erstellung einer Frontplatte vertraut machen.

Automatische Preisberechnung

Das Programm errechnet jederzeit den Preis des aktuellen Entwurfs und die stückzahlabhängige Rabattstaffel.

Online Bestellung

Der »Frontplatten Designer« enthält ein Modul für die Online Bestellung der gewünschten Frontplatten und optionalen Gehäusekomponenten.

Lieferservice von Standard bis „Overnight“

Im Bestelldialog legen Sie auch die Zeitschiene für Fertigung und Lieferung fest. Im Standardservice ist Ihre Bestellung nach 5-8 Tagen fertig. Im Express-Service und in Verbindung mit dem entsprechenden Lieferservice können Sie Ihre Bestellung aber auch schon am nächsten Tag in Empfang nehmen.

Entstehung und Entwicklung

Die Idee zur Entwicklung des Frontplattendesigners entstand im Jahre 1997, weil zwei Dinge zusammengekommen waren:

Die bisherige Entwicklung von Unterhaltungsautomaten und thermodynamischen Messeinrichtungen bei der Firma Schaeffer war mit einem Bedarf an Frontplatten verbunden, der regelmäßig in die Anforderung mündete: „Diese Platte einmal und wenn möglich bis Gestern“ – genau das, was Herstellern am wenigsten schmeckte und was verständlicherweise am meisten kosten sollte.
Aufgrund eines größeren Entwicklungsauftrages war man im Besitz einer modernen Hochleistungsfräse, die durch eine Software gesteuert wurde, deren Module auch die am häufigsten vorkommenden Frontplattenelemente abdeckte.

Innerhalb eines halben Jahres wurde eine Designsoftware für den Anwender entwickelt und eine Konvertierungssoftware, die eine individuelle Design-Datei in die entsprechende Fertigungsdatei für die Fräsmaschine konvertierte. Ab dem 1. März 1998 stand die Software auf der Homepage von Schaeffer Apparatebau zum Herunterladen bereit und wurde in Zeitschriften wie „Elrad“ und „Elektor“ beworben.

Der Fronplattendesigner entstand zu einer Zeit, in der die Zahl der Internetnutzer von Jahr zu Jahr rasant anwuchs. Und so traf der schaeffersche Frässervice auf eine ständig wachsende Community, die ihre Lösungen selbst ausarbeiten und online bestellen will und dabei die Sicherheit wünscht, genau das, was sie entworfen hat, preiswert und schnell geliefert zu bekommen – selbst bei Stückzahl Eins!

Die Schaeffer AG konnte sich positiv entwickeln, weil sie dem ursprünglichen Motto treu geblieben ist, dem Kunden größtmögliche Flexibilität bei der Gestaltung zu bieten und seine Lösung dann in hoher Qualität herzustellen und zuverlässig auszuliefern.

Die Schaeffer AG liefert weltweit, insbesondere natürlich den Markt in Europa. Speziell für den Markt in Amerika und Teilen von Asien wurde 2002 der »Front Panel Express LLC« in Seattle (USA) gegründet.